Giants In The Sky

In the spirit of International Women’s Day (last Sunday) I decided to talk about the book I finished reading that morning. Serendipitously it was Bad Girls Go Everywhere: The Life of Helen Gurley Brown, the Woman Behind Cosmopolitan Magazine by Jennifer Scanlon.

Until I opened this book I sadly admit that I had never heard of Helen Gurley Brown. That’s probably because she proved to be a controversial feminist figure throughout her lifetime and because I have no interest in the Cosmo magazine. In the video I address the first part but had to cut out my thoughts on Cosmo. I plan to post a video in the future where I can muse more on the Cosmopolitan Girl topic. Because as it turns out, I have a lot to say.

I go into a brief history of Feminism and that increased the video length beyond the usual 4 minutes. Trust me, this video could have been a *LOT* longer. But less is more and you’re welcome.

Humanity still has a long way to go in terms of inclusivity-not just for women-but thanks to individuals like Helen Gurley Brown we have made remarkable progress in a relatively short amount of time. Regrettably Helen Gurley Brown passed away in August of 2012 but I will never forget her strength, wit, and courage. She was a woman ahead of her time. Thank you.

I highly recommend this book to anyone but it will be a great read for those interested in feminism and/or cultural and gender studies. Of course it will also be a welcome addition to any independent woman’s bookshelf who isn’t afraid to be Single and Sassy.

Kristy XXOO

Leave a Reply

